The District announces launch of High School Student Forums. Learn more here.

Main Menu:

Welcome to James Rhoads Elementary School!

Attention Families!

Please click below to watch Principal Wapner’s June 7, 2024 update for James Rhoads Elementary

Dear James Rhoads Families,

 This year will be filled with lots of learning, fun, and friendship-building.  For those of you who have not had a chance to see our new playground, new trees, and basketball hoops, please stop by and admire the changes to our school grounds. We are excited to share the outdoor play space with our scholars!

A few things to keep in mind as you prepare for the school year:

Students must arrive by 8:10 every day for the start of the school day

K-2  are to enter at the cafeteria doors on 50th Street each morning

Breakfast for ALL students is in the cafeteria from 7:45 to 8:05

James Rhoads is remaining a cell phone-free school. Students will have Yondr Pouches to keep their phones in throughout the day. Students will have their phones in their possession but will only gain access to them at dismissal.
**Please contact the main office at 215 400 7680 if you have an emergency

James Rhoads students are required to wear a uniform every day.
-Blue or Yellow Shirt

– Black, Blue, or Khaki Bottom.

– Closed-toed shoes/sneakers with backs – no Crocs, slides, or sandals for safety reasons.

***James Rhoads Sweatsuits, T-Shirts and Polo shirts are available for purchase in the main office. ( $10 polo shirts, $5 t-shirts, $25 full sweatsuits and $15 sweatshirt or Sweat Pants separates)

We are looking forward to a productive partnership with you to ensure our children can achieve their highest potential. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the main office at 215-400-7680.

Megan Wapner Principal

Fatima Welcome    Assistant Principal                                       

Frequently Asked Questions

●     School Starts at 8:10 AM. Dismissal is at 2:54 PM

●     Breakfast for K-8 is served in the cafeteria daily from 7:45-8:05

●     Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grades students will arrive and dismiss from Cafeteria yellow door on 50th Street

●     3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th grades arrive and dismiss from the schoolyard

●     James Rhoads will be cell phone-free! School number: 215-400-7680

●     School Uniform: Blue or Yellow Shirts, Blue or Khaki Pants. NO crocs, or open-toed shoes

●     Parents/Guardians must bring current photo ID to pick up their child for early dismissal

●     Please send your child with a water bottle each day

Important Contact Information

         Megan Wapner: Principal; mwapner@philasd.org

         Fatima Welcome: Assistant Principal; fwelcome@philasd.org

         Francis Askew: School Counselor; faskew@philasd.org

Rhonda Boyd: Behavioral Health Counselor; rboyd@philasd.org

Kenyatta Brown: School Counselor; kbrown8@philasd.org

Dr. Thomas Papi: School Counselor; tpapi@philasd.org

Lamond Muhammad: Climate Manager; lmuhammad@philasd.org

Aimee Reilly: SPECM areilly@philasd.org

YMCA AfterSchool at Rhoads Elementary

YMCA Application

Our Vision

The James Rhoads Vision is to provide a world-class learning environment where children become lifelong learners to positively impact not only their future, but also the future of their families and community.

 Our Mission

It is our mission as the staff of James Rhoads to provide a highly effective educational program that informs, inspires, liberates and empowers students to seize academic, emotional and social success.

Provide effective instruction that is standards driven, differentiated and rigourous and provided by highly qualified and dedicated teachers.